Book Review: The Lost Memories of Freddy Frehling

freddie

Title: The Lost Memories of Freddy Frehling

Author: James Newman

Release date: January 18, 2020

Why the heck didn’t I read this sooner?

James Newman is a fantastic writer. He’s crafted some of the best works of fiction I’ve read and whether on his own, or when co-authoring with other stunning writers, I’ve always loved the emotions that are packed into his releases. We never get “just a story,” instead we live and feel what the characters do.

Maybe that is why I haven’t read this yet? My own struggle with relationships with older relatives?

Either way, when this was announced I pre-ordered it.

But then, recently I traded signed Newman books with Steve Thompson, a Newman fan in his own right. I sent him a Newman book that he didn’t have signed, and he sent me a signed copy of this one.

20200909_171405

So, that was settled. I knew, no matter how sad this one was, I needed to dive into it.

What I liked: First off, Richard Chizmar opens this with a really nice foreword. I normally wouldn’t mention the foreword, but Richard did such a nice job of summing up the struggle many of us are going through. We get to a point where we begin to question whether our memories of childhood were what we believed they were.

‘The Lost Memories of Freddy Frehling’ is heartbreaking. Set in a world where superheroes exist, we follow to older siblings dealing with their father. He’s had a fall, hit his head while in extended care, and dementia has begun. That alone would be enough to get the water works started, but as things progress we learn more about Freddy’s past.

Newman weaves such a succinct, soul-crushing story into a short page count that I was shocked it was over so soon. This was the perfect 30 pages. We get 400 pages of story, background and all, but the emotional impact will last for many, many years. This one is on the opposite side of the spectrum from his release ‘Odd Man Out,’ but still packed such a wallop.

What I didn’t like: Honestly, the only annoyance I had was the character that was the son. His sarcastic take on things was definitely meant as a coping mechanism to protect himself and Freddy, but it reminded me a lot of a family member and it just ground my gears!

Why you should buy this: James Newman is one of the best writers out there. No matter what subject matter he tackles, he delivers a stunning story and you’ll always connect.

I can’t thank Steve enough for sending me a signed copy of this. I did read my Kindle version, as the chapbook is now slotted nicely on my signed book shelf!

This was an easy 5 star read and one I hope more people discover!

5/5

One thought on “Book Review: The Lost Memories of Freddy Frehling

Leave a comment