Book Review: Helicopter Parenting in the Age of Drone Warfare by Patrick Barb

Helicopter ebook

Title: Helicopter Parenting in the Age of Drone Warfare

Author: Patrick Barb

Release date: November 29th, 2022

Firstly, huge thanks to Rob and Spooky House Press for sending me a digital ARC of this upcoming novelette!

Honestly, this is a tough one to review, and the only reason I say that is because of the subject matter. I think some of this may ultimately come down to what country you are from when you read this. In the US, there’s a significant belief that guns are a fundamental right and something every single person should own. Over the last number of years – and I’m old enough to remember all the way back to Columbine – there have been thousands of violent slaughters in the US and very little done about it. I actually remember when I first watched the movie American History X. Sorry, minor spoiler here – but I was beyond shocked at the end when the African American student guns down the Caucasian character in the school washroom. I couldn’t fathom it. I was 17 when it came out the thought that this was something that happened just completely shocked me. How could these things keep happening?

Which brings us to Patrick Barb’s novelette – ‘Helicopter Parenting in the Age of Drone Warfare.’ I went in knowing a few things. First – it would be a quick read at only around 90 pages. Second – it involved a parent grappling with what his son attempts to do at school. And third – that it involved divorce and a workaholic father.

I was intrigued with the set up and from the other reviews I skimmed over – not wanting to completely have everything spoiled – I was excited to dive in.

What I liked: The story is told from the father, Abe’s, POV. Set in the near future where everyone has some sort of drone hovering around them for visual ‘connection and visiting,’ Abe is relaying what happened to a detective and her helper drone. We learn about how Abe works a significant amount of time, how he and his ex-wife, Cathy, are divorced and how Abe has lost touch with his son Zack.

It’s an all-too common aspect that works well for me. The ‘that’s not how my kid is’ subplot that I fear all parents will deal with at one time or another. This is used as the main driving narrative. Abe can’t believe his son isn’t super popular anymore of that other kids find him creepy and disturbing. How, his son no longer excels at school and how he has lied and deceived in such a way as to ultimately give himself the ability to put his plans in place.

Barb does a great job of ramping up the tension and keeping it going until the very end. The final act that Abe has to deliver is a tough one, but one that works well within the story. It is something that I think will be hit or miss for many (and normally I might put this in the next section but it worked for me) but I felt it was a solid way to effectively cap off Abe’s story arc as well as Zack’s.

What I didn’t like: As I mentioned – school violence is something that should never happen. Either between students or from others entering the building illegally and with horrible intentions. This novelette is a tough one to stomach and I think we’ll see some folks either decide to not read it because of the subject matter or rate it lower because of the emotions it will stir up. I personally think Barb handled it with tact and sensitivity and it doesn’t come off as an aspect done simply for shock and awe, but for true growth and discussion on the subject.

Why you should buy this: ‘Helicopter Parenting in the Age of Drone Warfare’ will most likely make a number of year-end ‘Best Of’ lists and rightfully so. It’s a really well done, difficult read that will have you questioning the parents actions, the schools actions, the scope of technology in our lives and ultimately the gun control question. The fact this is wrapped into a novelette shows how phenomenal Barb is at controlling the story. This is a top notch read and one I think will be talked about for some time.

5/5

One thought on “Book Review: Helicopter Parenting in the Age of Drone Warfare by Patrick Barb

Leave a comment