Book Review: The Marigold by Andrew F. Sullivan

61773985

Title: The Marigold

Author: Andrew F. Sullivan

Release date: April 18th, 2023

First, huge thanks to Andrew for reaching out to see if I’d be up for reading an eARC of this one. While it’s not out until April, after reading the synopsis I needed to dive in almost immediately.

I will say, Andrew’s email had the most convincing opening sentence I’ve had received for a review request. “Hey, Steve. My name’s Andrew F. Sullivan and I’m friends with Andrew Pyper.” Sold. Haha! He went on to say something like, I’m a well-respected Canadian author, I have a book coming out soon with Nick Cutter, etc etc etc, something else, but I skimmed. I knew I was in! Haha! I kid. In truth, Andrew F. Sullivan is a name that has been recommended to me previously and when he reached out, I was surprised and humbled that he’d even considered me. So, huge thanks to him for that boost!

Now, regarding the book. There were two key things that really caught my eye about the synopsis. That is was described a urban dystopia and featured environmental chaos. As much as the climate crisis fills me with ongoing dread and worry – both regarding what we’re doing now and what kind of future my son will have – I actually enjoy reading about it. Recent books that I’ve read and enjoyed were Eden and The Last Storm by Tim Lebbon, The Road by Cormac McCarthy and Lost Girl by Adam Nevill. All books that feature a significant change in our way of life directly due to the ecological impact and climate crisis events.

The other thing that had me intrigued was the Toronto aspect. I’ve mentioned it before, but Toronto is a mythical city for me. Growing up, it was where Canadian movies, tv shows and those appearing in them lived. It was where Hockey Night in Canada happened and where the Leafs and the Canadians battled. It created a spot in my small town brain that hasn’t left. So, I wanted to see what Sullivan was going to do to this place that continues to shimmer in my mind.

What I liked: ‘The Marigold’ follows a number of inter-woven storylines, all surrounding the strange mass growing below the surface of the city, called The Wet. This gelatinous mold material that seems to have a sentient component and a human-like emotive element is transforming and taking over everything in its path, including the people it comes into contact with.

The various characters that we are introduced to are all solid, well formed folks, people we either root for right away or (rightfully so) detest immediately. It’s one aspect of the book that keeps you turning the pages, hoping for redemption to those struggling (looking at you Soda) and ramifications for those who treat people poorly and only want progress and not well made, dependable product (looking at you all of The Marigold/Dundee folks).

Additionally, The Wet itself is an intriguing and often used device that keeps the tension high and when we get the ‘human’ aspects introduced, especially involving a search for a specific character, it worked so very well to give it a cinematic aspect.

The ending is powerful, reaching inwards to the reader and making us confront a tough question, one that revolves around our personal beliefs and challenges us to try and be better.

What I didn’t like: Yes, there are a lot of characters, but Sullivan handled that well. What I wasn’t too much of a fan of was the random entries/chapters regarding specific apartments in The Marigold building itself. After a couple of them, you know they are added purely to show how The Wet is pulling itself further into the building itself and the reader will have no care or concern for the resident themselves.

Why you should buy this: The way the dystopian aspect is positioned here, a lot of this book reminded me of what I loved about the 80’s and 90’s comic book movies and Tim Burton movies. Where Gotham City is overrun by crooks and crazies. Where Robocop patrols the streets of a Detroit overrun by gangs and madness. It turned Toronto into this heightened, horrifying place where the ground itself is crumbling, but progress can’t be stopped.

This was a fascinating, if not awful look, at just what our future could become, but done in such a way you want to hold onto hope.

Even when that seems impossible.

5/5

One thought on “Book Review: The Marigold by Andrew F. Sullivan

Leave a comment