3Q’s – Carver Pike does simple math!

3Q's green

Fun one (as always) today friends! Today’s guest is not only a talented author and a super supportive person, but also the creator of a really fun Youtube Channel.

That’s right, I’m talking about the one and only, Carver Pike!

Welcome Carver!

Carver

Steve: What does your writing time look like? Do you try and write at the same time each day? Do you have a word count you attempt to hit?

Carver: Most of my writing now takes place in the morning. I’m lucky that I’m currently working from home so when I don’t have medical appointments or errands to run, I write as soon as I wake up. Then, I’ll also kind of write here and there throughout the day in-between my day job projects. I try to hit at least 2,000 words per day. On an uninterrupted day, I’ll usually pass that. An average good day for me is probably close to 5,000 words. The problem is I do have a lot of appointments. Lots of health stuff going on between my wife and me so I don’t write every day. I try to, but I don’t. I’ve also learned to put all work away by about 5pm, and I don’t work on weekends. That’s wife time. Back in the day, I’d work all day, half the night, and all weekend. I burned myself out. It’s difficult to do, but you have to learn to stop at some point or you will eventually burn out.

Steve: You end up at an estate sale and discover an unpublished manuscript from an author you love. Do you keep it just for yourself or do you share it with the world?

Carver: Oh, that’s a good question, Steve. Damn, man. I can approach this a couple of ways. First, is the author alive or dead? I have to ask because the next question I have is why didn’t/hasn’t the author published it? I wouldn’t want to disrespect the author by sharing something with the world he/she didn’t want shared. Let’s say it was Ray Bradbury. I’m a fan of Bradbury’s work. He’s obviously no longer living. So, I’d have to wonder why he never published it. Was it because he passed away before he got the opportunity? If that were the case, then I’d share it with the world if it were in a stage that made sense. Or maybe I’d reach out to whoever is running his estate and see what they have to say about it. Some stuff is meant to be kept close to the vest. Maybe Ray wouldn’t want this particular piece to be shared. You know what I mean? I definitely wouldn’t keep it to myself for selfish reasons. That kind of stuff doesn’t interest me at all. If the author was alive, like maybe I’d stumbled upon something Brian Keene or Bentley Little let slip out, I’d reach out to the author and let them know I had it. I’d probably never be able to get a hold of Little, but I’d try. I’d just hand it to Keene at Scares That Care Authorcon 2 next year.

Steve: Tell me about your newest release (novel/story/poem/novella) and why someone should read it!

Carver: Kin of the Fallen is the book I’m working on now. It should be at least available for pre-order, if not released already, by the time this interview goes live. This one is going to be super violent. It’s basically a serial killer VS bikers. You know how there are all these books and movies about the final girl from all the slasher movies? Well, what about all the people who didn’t survive in those slasher situations? Think about them. Now, think about their family members. The parents, the siblings, the aunts and uncles, the cousins, the husbands and wives, the friends… they’re left mourning the loss of their loved ones. Of course, they go to therapy meetings. Well, for some, that’s not enough. In my book, some of those trying to deal with this pain and misery band together and form a motorcycle club hellbent on revenge. The Kin of the Fallen MC. “Grief Breeds Rage & Vengeance.” It’s their creed. Their mission is to hunt killers before they strike again. But Craw, a wild, animalistic psychopath has seen them on the news bragging about their abilities, and he’s ready to call their bluff.

Craw has been a fun villain to write, and I’ve had a blast with each character of the Kin of the Fallen MC. I think people are really going to enjoy this book. It’s fast paced and violent as hell.

Steve: Bonus Question! You wake up in a comic book. What is your comic book character and what is your super power?

Carver: Oh, hands down, Multiplicity Man. I want to be like Michael Keaton in the movie Multiplicity, but with versions of myself that were all good versions. Excellent copies. Not the flawed versions he kept getting in the movie. Man, can you imagine? I have three pen names. I’d be like, “Okay, Me-A, you are going to focus on the romantic suspense biker books under the CM Genovese pen name and handle everything for that name. Me-B, you focus only on tiger shark shifter books under Chris Genovese and other stuff for that name. Me-C, you go ahead and work on the young adult book ideas we’ve been plotting out. Me-D, you just clean the fuckin’ house. Only do house shit. Me-E, you get our website up to par so we can get our signed paperbacks out faster like I want. Me-F, you just worry about medical appointments and any other personal issue. The Real Me will write Carver books and focus on my wife and kids.

That would be my super power. Can we make this happen, please?

Oh, great answer! Not gonna lie though, when this email came back and I scanned the reply, I saw Me-B and thought it said Mel B and Carver wanted to be a Spice Girl! That could be a rad superpower too! Haha!

Thanks again, Carver!

To discover more of his work, check the links!

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Carver-Pike/e/B01MPWAO4H

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CarverPike

Website: http://carverpike.com/

One thought on “3Q’s – Carver Pike does simple math!

Leave a comment